Featured
Donna P Jpr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Dundalk, Maryland

Blowed, seized Engine on behalf of Pep Boys

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Blowed, seized Engine on behalf of Pep Boys
Explore video interviews
Advertisements
Updated by user Mar 09, 2024

Absolutely not. I intend to pursue this in court.

Original review Mar 08, 2024
Pep Boys:
Attention Rhonda Grant:
On February 3rd, 2024 my daughter Kayley Lawrence attempted to change the oil in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler at her place of residence as she has done multiple times previously. While attempting to remove the oil cap, it broke off into the housing.

She knew immediately that this would require repairs by a professional mechanic. The Jeep was then towed to Pep Boys in order to accomplish the necessary repairs. The Jeep was not driven between the time Kayley began the oil change and the time it arrived by professional tow truck to Pep Boys.
Our written work order/final receipt says in the instructions (In bold capital letters) for the employees NOT to drive the Jeep, as the vehicle must be pushed due to the lack of oil. Prior to the oil change and the repairs completed by Pep Boys, the Jeep was mechanically sound.

The absolute sole purpose for the Jeep being in Pep Boys possession was to repair the oil cap and housing. NO other mechanical issues were noted or discussed.
Pep Boys contacted Kayley on February 7th and informed her that the repairs were completed and the Jeep had been test driven and was ready to be picked up. I paid Pep Boys $1197.00 for the repairs and expected the Jeep to be in full working order. When Kayley arrived to pick up the Jeep, it would not start at all.

At this point, a Pep Boys representative informed Kayley that they arent mechanics and dont do actual repairs so she would have to have the Jeep towed elsewhere and have someone more qualified determine the issue. I would like to point out to you that the wording on the receipt we received literally uses the word repairs and the job title of the person completing said repairs is listed as mechanic. In your conversation with Kayley, you yourself used the terms repairs and mechanic. Therefore, either the statement made to Kayley was completely dishonest or my receipt is potentially fraudulent.

Referring to an employee using the job title of mechanic seems inherently misleading if said employee is not in fact a mechanic.
At this time, the Jeep was towed to DELCARS Chrysler/Dodge/JEEP Dealership. We have since received an estimate from this dealership. According to Kenny Williams, the motor is seized and the cost of replacement is $14,000.00. Your adjuster made the claim that the Jeep supposedly started but ran rough.

Our statement from Mr Williams, of which you have been provided a copy, clearly states this is not possible since the Jeep motor is completely locked up and could not possibly have been started.
You have stated on two separate occasions that the Jeep motor somehow simply gave out after being repaired by a Pep Boys mechanic then being test driven and determined to be fully repaired, drivable and ready to be picked up. Does this not strike you as unusual? Somehow your employee was able to successfully test drive the car without noting any unusual noises or mechanical problems, yet the same vehicle would not even turn over just a few short hours later? Surely you can understand why this seems unlikely at best.
At this time we have unfortunately been in a position where we have had no choice but to invest a quite substantial amount of money to retrieve a vehicle that was functioning properly before being brought to your company for what should have been a rather unremarkable repair.

Kayley turned the Jeep over to your company on February 3rd, and should have received her vehicle in good repair a short four days later. As you know, thats not the case. As of today she has been without a vehicle for
27 days and we believe it will likely be several weeks before the vehicle is repaired correctly.
As of today we have incurred the following expenses:
**Repair cost to Pep Boys for an incomplete repair: $1197.00
**Rental car: $900.00
**Cost to transport my car to Kayley in order to mitigate expenses: $502.00
**Travel cost to retrieve the Jeep: $802.00
To date this totals $3401.00. After the Jeep is repaired we will need to transport the Jeep to Kayley and return in my car.

This will add approximately $600.00 additional expense. The estimate for the Jeep repair is $14,000 thus bringing our total accumulated expense to an expected $18,001.00.
At this time we are willing to accept a payment of $7500.00 as a settlement to avoid the added time and expense of going to court.

This amount is less than half of our total expected investment, and less then a third if you consider the amount already paid to your company for a repair that is now of no value to us.
If this is not a satisfactory solution for your company then I fully intend to pursue the entire amount in court in addition to any further legal fees and travel expenses. If you find this offer to be fair and acceptable we will expect written acknowledgment of a binding agreement within three days and a check in the amount of $7500.00 to be provided within seven days.
Thank you for your time and consideration of our offer, and again Id like to remind you that the Jeep belongs to me, and no decision made between your company and anyone else will be acknowledged.
View full review
Loss:
$14
Cons:
  • Corruption company
  • Rip off

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not take your vehicle to Pep Boys

Featured
Donna P Jpr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Dundalk, Maryland

Blowed, seized Engine on behalf of Pep Boys

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Blowed, seized Engine on behalf of Pep Boys
Explore video interviews
Updated by user Mar 09, 2024

Absolutely not. I intend to pursue this in court.

Original review Mar 08, 2024
Pep Boys:
Attention Rhonda Grant:
On February 3rd, 2024 my daughter Kayley Lawrence attempted to change the oil in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler at her place of residence as she has done multiple times previously. While attempting to remove the oil cap, it broke off into the housing.

She knew immediately that this would require repairs by a professional mechanic. The Jeep was then towed to Pep Boys in order to accomplish the necessary repairs. The Jeep was not driven between the time Kayley began the oil change and the time it arrived by professional tow truck to Pep Boys.
Our written work order/final receipt says in the instructions (In bold capital letters) for the employees NOT to drive the Jeep, as the vehicle must be pushed due to the lack of oil. Prior to the oil change and the repairs completed by Pep Boys, the Jeep was mechanically sound.

The absolute sole purpose for the Jeep being in Pep Boys possession was to repair the oil cap and housing. NO other mechanical issues were noted or discussed.
Pep Boys contacted Kayley on February 7th and informed her that the repairs were completed and the Jeep had been test driven and was ready to be picked up. I paid Pep Boys $1197.00 for the repairs and expected the Jeep to be in full working order. When Kayley arrived to pick up the Jeep, it would not start at all.

At this point, a Pep Boys representative informed Kayley that they arent mechanics and dont do actual repairs so she would have to have the Jeep towed elsewhere and have someone more qualified determine the issue. I would like to point out to you that the wording on the receipt we received literally uses the word repairs and the job title of the person completing said repairs is listed as mechanic. In your conversation with Kayley, you yourself used the terms repairs and mechanic. Therefore, either the statement made to Kayley was completely dishonest or my receipt is potentially fraudulent.

Referring to an employee using the job title of mechanic seems inherently misleading if said employee is not in fact a mechanic.
At this time, the Jeep was towed to DELCARS Chrysler/Dodge/JEEP Dealership. We have since received an estimate from this dealership. According to Kenny Williams, the motor is seized and the cost of replacement is $14,000.00. Your adjuster made the claim that the Jeep supposedly started but ran rough.

Our statement from Mr Williams, of which you have been provided a copy, clearly states this is not possible since the Jeep motor is completely locked up and could not possibly have been started.
You have stated on two separate occasions that the Jeep motor somehow simply gave out after being repaired by a Pep Boys mechanic then being test driven and determined to be fully repaired, drivable and ready to be picked up. Does this not strike you as unusual? Somehow your employee was able to successfully test drive the car without noting any unusual noises or mechanical problems, yet the same vehicle would not even turn over just a few short hours later? Surely you can understand why this seems unlikely at best.
At this time we have unfortunately been in a position where we have had no choice but to invest a quite substantial amount of money to retrieve a vehicle that was functioning properly before being brought to your company for what should have been a rather unremarkable repair.

Kayley turned the Jeep over to your company on February 3rd, and should have received her vehicle in good repair a short four days later. As you know, thats not the case. As of today she has been without a vehicle for
27 days and we believe it will likely be several weeks before the vehicle is repaired correctly.
As of today we have incurred the following expenses:
**Repair cost to Pep Boys for an incomplete repair: $1197.00
**Rental car: $900.00
**Cost to transport my car to Kayley in order to mitigate expenses: $502.00
**Travel cost to retrieve the Jeep: $802.00
To date this totals $3401.00. After the Jeep is repaired we will need to transport the Jeep to Kayley and return in my car.

This will add approximately $600.00 additional expense. The estimate for the Jeep repair is $14,000 thus bringing our total accumulated expense to an expected $18,001.00.
At this time we are willing to accept a payment of $7500.00 as a settlement to avoid the added time and expense of going to court.

This amount is less than half of our total expected investment, and less then a third if you consider the amount already paid to your company for a repair that is now of no value to us.
If this is not a satisfactory solution for your company then I fully intend to pursue the entire amount in court in addition to any further legal fees and travel expenses. If you find this offer to be fair and acceptable we will expect written acknowledgment of a binding agreement within three days and a check in the amount of $7500.00 to be provided within seven days.
Thank you for your time and consideration of our offer, and again Id like to remind you that the Jeep belongs to me, and no decision made between your company and anyone else will be acknowledged.
View full review
Loss:
$14
Cons:
  • Corruption company
  • Rip off

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not take your vehicle to Pep Boys

JW W Cbe

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Cave Spring, Virginia

Tried to cheat me and very poor quality of work

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Pep Boys - Tried to cheat me and very poor quality of work
Pep Boys - Tried to cheat me and very poor quality of work - Image 2

Went in for inspection for Audi A4 left my car they contacted me to say would not pass it need rear window light assembly would be $276 I agreed to this, little pricey but need my car for work. Called me next day to say they were working on light assembly but after more testing my parking brake on the driver's side was not working would be $1500 it needed a control module, I insisted it was working.

If it was a control module, neither side would have worked. He said that he would test it again but still not working. I said to reject it, I would fix it myself. So when I went in he changed me $444 not $276 because of rehooking it to computer and retesting parking brake.

My wife was waiting outside he didn't want to give me my keys, keep going on about everything, I finally said I need my keys. I got home, took off my tire and parking brake was unplugged. I plugged it back in and it worked fine ! I went back to pep boys, and told manager nothing was wrong with my brakes and cloth interior was left hanging down after light assembly replacement.

He said I was next in line 3 hrs later I see a mechanic that checked me out and said my parking brake was not working. When I tried telling him it was unplugged, he insisted it was not working. I was not going to take a chance on anything else be done to my car, so I got my keys and left. Went down the street and had an inspection sticker within an hour !!

I ask for a parcel refund not a full refund, and they offered me to repair interior lining and free oil change. No, thanks, not touching anything of mine again.

View full review
Loss:
$200
Pros:
  • 10 minutes from my home
Cons:
  • Not trust worthy

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Stay away

Fazal A Hax

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Houston, Texas

FRAUD, CHEATING, UNPROFESSIONALS, UNSKILLED, SHAMELESS

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Hello,

Congratulations for hiring the great crooks, working on your stores, cheating people, wasting their time, not knowing how to do their jobs. Even the people inside the service bay, do not know how to change a tire.

Amazing, great.

People at the check in and check out counter, are great, they know how to be ignorant and deny their early commitments and deny the earlier given quotes.

Wow.

Yesterday I was cheated at the Sharpstown location (Southwest Freeway). I checked and rechecked the quotes, online and over the phone. I booked an appointment at the location.

I visited and the person (at checkin) confirmed the appointment, and took my car to the service area.

I was asked to wait and wait and wait. While I could the struggle going on in the service area, and i was repeatedly asked to wait, and be patient and wait and be patient.

This practice took 4 hours.

After 4 hours those untrained struggling workers were able to mount the tires somehow.

Then they performed a 3 minutes alignment on my car.

Finally I was asked to pay before the car comes out of the service bay.

I was asked to pay $1,245.70, for the great service and 4 hours of wait and stress.

While I was quoted $1,085.00 online at the appointment confirmation and later on phone.

I was forced to pay the amount they billed and earlier quoted price was denied. Having no option paid the amount.

Now at this stage I have a few understandings and questions.

I completely understand and confident that you do not care about any stupid customers like me and their stupid msgs like this.

I do understand and am sure that there is no force to make you reply this email. But I assure you I will not forget this and I will inform everyone I would ever meet in my life.

I do not understand why would you quote the prices online and over the phone, that you can not honor ?

I do not understand why would you hire crooks to cheat people on the counters ?

I do not know why would you hire the people to work in service areas,, those who can not even mount the tires ?

I do not understand why and how on earth it may take 4 hours to mount tires on a vehicle ?

I do not understand that mounting tires takes 4 hours while an alignment job takes on 3 minutes ?

Well I did learnt my lesson and got properly punished for my mistake to trust Pepboys and letting them rob me.

The last episode of this serial is that, my car started dancing as soon as I approached the ramp on 610. Pepboys was already closed while I was waiting for my car.

So having no option, spent another hour to get back to home in a turtle walk speed.

Today got the car fixed somewhere else, thanks God not the Pepboys.

I suggest and advise you to keep the practice, keep cheating, keep hiring crooks, keep hiring untrained mechanics, keep spoiling people's cars. This will keep you in business for good.

I am trying my best to spread the standards and policies of your business, considering to seek, some advise for the recovery of my money that has been taken wrongfully and the time I was made to spend leaving everything else unattended.

Regards.

Fazal Ahmed Khilji

View full review
Loss:
$1245
Pros:
  • Look professional and publish good offers online
Cons:
  • Cheat you out of your money

User's recommendation: Please do not trust them, they will damage your car, and charge for that

JW W Cbe

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Fairfax, Virginia

Tryed to cheat me and very poor quality work

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Pep Boys - Tryed to cheat me and very poor quality work
Pep Boys - Tryed to cheat me and very poor quality work - Image 2
Updated by user Oct 26, 2023

They charged me for a crooked light assembly that was not bad ,after talking to othef inspector 50% of the leds would have to of been out before it was illegal and i caught their mechanic lying out his teeth about my parking brake control module..he unplugged my...

Original review Oct 07, 2023
Went in for inspection. Told me I need rear light assembly (never noticed it out before but liked store manager so took his word) for Audi A4 $276.

New OEM light was $100, charged me $444. After that, tried saying my driver's side parking brake was not working & needed control module and would be $1500 more. I said no, reject it, I would fix it myself. Took it home and parking brake motor was unplugged, worked fine.

I took it back to get them to fix what they messed up ;my light assembly is crooked, fabric in top of car is loose, don't was not like that before and paid for inspection I never got, but after I tried talking to the mechanic, and he insisted it was not working.

I think he unplugged it, and I was not going to give him the opportunity to completely sabotage my car in order to cover his tracks. Anyway I left p boys and with in an hour had an inspection sticker do not trust electric rd pep boys in Roanoke, VA
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't go, very shady. if my control module was bad both sides of my parking brakes would not have been working not just one side

Robert C Yqa

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Vallejo, California

Poor communication, the worst workmanship I ever see, they cheat and lied in your face I never use this place anymore and please people do not use this company anymore

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Long story short I ordered Michelin tires and I get installed Uniroyall at the same price.. Not only that the new tire it is thinner according to the mechanic it was the manufacturer correct tire the original bill was around 950 and I end up paying over 1500 just because they said they replace a single tire sensor..

my TPS light it is ON in my dashboard after I drive it for a few minutes but the worst part it is they didnt perform an alignment and charge for it.,, my car it is not safe to drive it goes to the right in less then 100 feet. I mentioned this to the shop and I get ignoredthis is my familys car Do you drive a car in this condition with your family???

View full review
Pros:
  • I got only negative answers
Cons:
  • Pretty much everything from the start

Preferred solution: I want what I pay for… not what you want

User's recommendation: Please do not use this company ever…

Annie H Dqp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Nashville, Tennessee

They will not properly repair vehicle and they are ignoring me! Nightmare and spreading the word!!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Pep Boys told me that my brakes were bad, along with roters, drums, brake rods and heat shield. The warranty company paid for all repairs. The car has not functioned properly since the first "repair." I have had the car back on 5 occasions for continuous grinding and I am waiting for the heat shields. THIS IS A NIGHTMARE!! Manager, Hunter, won't return calls, Todd, Regional Manager, won't return calls. Don't want to get a newstation to help me, but I will if you all don't respond.
View full review

Preferred solution: PROPERLY REPAIRED OR FULL REFUND!

User's recommendation: DON'T USE PEP BOYS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Amit D Wcs
map-marker Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey

Scam - cheating - fraud pep boys - Hasbrouck Heights - NJ

Scam - cheating - fraud pep boys - Hasbrouck Heights - NJ
Scam - Scam -Scam Pepboys - Hasbrouck Heigts NJ manager Louis (not a man of his word - different gender) agreed for online price to install two tires $295.51 after installation his guys asked for $347.50 saying he can not rispect online price and only get my car if pay $347.59 - I had no other option left Never sign the contract agreement - scam - fraud - cheating
View full review
Loss:
$52
Cons:
  • Scam - fraud

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Scam -

Pamela S Ddc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Ourense, Galicia

Horrible work

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My rings went out in my car and the warranty work went to dacula GA store. They got it and had it for 30+ days. I spent 2000 $ on rentals. They charged me 2400 for the work. Got it back and the new motor and cars was blowing black smoke still and getting 8 mpg in gas. They took it back had it 3 more weeks and it's a smaller motor and different battery still smoking. I spent another 1000 on rental and I'm a senior women on ssi.
View full review
Loss:
$5000

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Proceed with caution

Henry H Wwe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Memphis, Tennessee

Overpriced oil change

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sent son to get an oil change,Christmas Eve,wasnt told he charged for high mileage oil, not a high mileage car19 Chevy Cruze 40k miles. Told he had a bad oil leak after the fact but no signs of leaking oil. I called the store was told no options on oil only synthetic. Manufacturer recommends 5w30. Overpaid Misinformed taken advantage of MAD Marine
View full review
Pros:
  • Usually very helpful

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: I like pep boys not this one pleasant view Memphis Tn

Noriko I

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Charleston, South Carolina

No resolution, Poor customer service, Miscommunications

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Pep Boys - No resolution, Poor customer service, Miscommunications

There were a series of miscommunications but what upset us most was the ill-mannered interactions with us. We hope Pep Boys understand the importance of customer services.

We do not need Pep Boys employees giving griefs on top of our car problems. Let alone Pep Boys employees lacking empathy, but also they demonstrated rude customer services by disrespectfully answering our questions from the very first conversation to finally hanging up the phone abruptly in mid-conversation when I asked for his name for the negative attitudes throughout the encounter. Poorly trained or uninformed representatives miscommunicated with us frequently during our brief encounter (store was closed before the advertized business hours, told to pick up the vehicle, but when I got there I was told too soon to pick up, etc, miscommunication between the employees about my request on specifics of inspection and also about the exact inspection results, in addition, they couldn't find my key upon completion of service).

Sadly lack of resolution on my end as to what's wrong with the vehicle after all the work and money I spent. I highly question their professionalism and integrity.

View full review
Loss:
$111
Pros:
  • Location
Cons:
  • No resolution
  • Poor customer service
  • Miscommunications

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: I would not recommend them for your car issues.

1 comment
Guest

Quit begging

Christopher J Jzg

The service manager lined to me

I had a 9:00 am appt that did not start until 9:48. When I asked to tell me the oil schedule told them not to look at light because they are understaffed.So it toke another 25 min to pull into a bay.

@ 10:38 I asked again what was going on , they broke the oil filler cap under the truck. And never told me until I asked that were waiting on the new one Lied again. .threaten me that I will get it when it’s done. Nice service!

I have have been an *** that use to be faithful costumer . That is worried that you manager is gonna *** with my truck.

I am putting you on notice that I will sue you asap. I there is a new issue all tires a bran new an the oil pan did not leak.I will be expecting a call 716 359 ****

View full review

Preferred solution: Any problems resovled

User's recommendation: Pass

Gail B Vbg
map-marker Surprise, Arizona

My car is now leaking,when It got there it wasn't

My car had been to another mechanic the day before and said nothing was wrong with my car.I take it to pep boys and they say all these things are wrong equaling 4,700.00!!!I wanted a second opinion but not highway robbery!This place is a freaking nightmare!I am suing them!Niw my car is leaking and it did not before
View full review

User's recommendation: Never go to Pep Boys

William P Vdt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Town Creek, Alabama

Incompetent engine repair service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I had my truck towed to a Pep boys shop because it overheated and cut off. The reported that it needed a replacement hose and fresh coolent.

That was $500.00. I started the truck and it was running very badly. I went back into the shop. The checked it with a diagnosis scanner.

Then I was told that it needed a tune up. That should have been done at the same time as they replaced the hose. The had to schedule the tune up for the following morning. The next afternoon I arrived while going to work.

I and was told that they had not gotten the job done. Wednesday morning I had a message on my mobile that they had found a small leak in the intake manifold and would need to order a new one. I work every day and am taking Lyfts to and from work. It costs fifty dollars each way.

But I have to be at work. A week ago I spoke with the manager and he said that the part would be here in a couple of days. Monday arrived. No manifold.

Wednesday got here and they sent a message stating that they could patch the manifold until the new one arrives. I asked why they didn't suggest that a week ago. They said that it would be ready in around an hour. I arrived at the shop an hour later the took the truck from the parking lot back into the garage.

I was told that they were checking to make sure the seal was good. Over an hour later they pulled the truck to the front door. I jumped in and cranked it up. It wasn't running any better and definitely wasn't drivable.

The engine shut down right there. They then informed me that was of the cylinders was dead and the engine would have to be replaced. It didn't just go bad since it was pulled from the garage to the front door. They couldn't explain why a five hundred dollar hose was put on a bad engine or why it also needed a tune up.

They then told me that the new manifold they ordered wouldn't help. But they informed me that I wouldn't be charged for the tune up.avoid Pep Boys. I haven't received much interest from their customer service yet. I told the manager that I would not use them again.

He said cool.

I told the counter guy that I would leave bad feedback for this shop. He said that he didn't care.find a good shade tree mechanic.

View full review
Don T Nky

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker League City, Texas

Overpriced. Took way too long and poor customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Pep Boys - Overpriced. Took way too long and poor customer service
Pep Boys - Overpriced. Took way too long and poor customer service - Image 2
Pep Boys - Overpriced. Took way too long and poor customer service - Image 3
Technician actually wrecked my truck and not fixing it by lowballing the value of my truck. I will NEVER do business with Pep Boys again
View full review
Loss:
$5500
Cons:
  • Tries to pay as little as possible for their mistakes

Preferred solution: Reasonable compensation for wrecking my truck!

User's recommendation: A Corporation that takes little responsibility for the mistakes they make!

Bennetta Hki

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Boston, Massachusetts

Damaged rims

I had new tires put on the front of my vehicle And they damaged my rims, Im very upset Not only that, I had to go back week later, because one of the tires was loosing psi I will never be back here again My suggestion to anyone who decides to bring their vehicle to pep boys for tire changing and alignment Take pictures before!
View full review

User's recommendation: Stay out of this place

Anonymous
map-marker Hemet, California

Tried to upsell me something not needed

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
went there yesterday to get an oil change and new wind shield wipers put on my chevy spark ! i do not drive around much just here and there in my local area ! anyways when i went to pay for my service the card shark tells me oh we noticed battery was low and wanted 229 for a new one ! no way t
View full review

User's recommendation: steer clear of these car sharks avoid at all cost

Brands Related to Pep Boys

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article